Tons of noise :(

General Project and community related discussion.

Moderators: Dade, coordinators

Tons of noise :(

Postby GenHOME » Fri Mar 30, 2018 12:58 am

Hi all,

After searching the web, forums, and getting tons of informations, still have a problem with my render (from Sketchup work).

The scene i try to render :
- use only sun/sky light
- get 3 bay window

When render the scene, and after hours rendering, i still have a ton of noise :(
I tryed different setups, but all of them give me the same result...

Plz help !

model & result attached ;)
Attachments
résult.PNG
render result
model.PNG
model
GenHOME
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 12:46 am

Re: Tons of noise :(

Postby GenHOME » Fri Mar 30, 2018 2:33 am

Here the result after 1h49 rendering, using Linear Kernel (ISO1000, Shutter 1/1000, f-stop at 11) and no noise reduction (in order not to lose details on textures).

Any China Smartphone with a poor camera could make better in real :(
Result is far from expected...

ps : results are captured at 45% of original size ; imagine while at 100% :-/
Attachments
result2.PNG
Result after 1h49 rendering
GenHOME
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 12:46 am

Re: Tons of noise :(

Postby B.Y.O.B. » Fri Mar 30, 2018 3:59 am

Since you are using sketchup I guess this is with the old ("classic") Lux API.
It is slow, try 8 hours or more.
I don't know if sketchup allows to set portals, those could help.

But you could get much faster results if you use the new LuxCore API.
There is currently only a new Blender addon for this, so you would have to export your scene to OBJ or similar, import into Blender and setup the materials and lighting there.
For more info on the new stuff, see viewtopic.php?f=12&t=13485
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
 
Posts: 5181
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Tons of noise :(

Postby jensverwiebe » Fri Mar 30, 2018 4:59 am

Slow is relative .. if you throw 60 cores on it, classic is still a good reliable render mode.
Use portals for your indoor scenes to boost contributions, set optimal not too high raydepth.

Unless luxcore api2 will support sketchup, you are bound to classic or luxcorerender modes.
Perhaps ask Abel for tips, i dunno the status of that exportermodule.
User avatar
jensverwiebe
Developer
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:34 pm

Re: Tons of noise :(

Postby GenHOME » Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:09 am

Hi, thanks for your answers.

I use the last available plugin for Sketchup - v0.45 found on forum (don't have enought skill on Blender :( ).

B.Y.O.B. : magenta color is mapped to portal (supported by Sketchup plugin).
jensverwiebe : where could i find raydeph option ? don't saw it on engine or scene options !
GenHOME
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 12:46 am

Re: Tons of noise :(

Postby jensverwiebe » Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:13 am

GenHOME wrote:Hi, thanks for your answers.

I use the last available plugin for Sketchup - v0.45 found on forum (don't have enought skill on Blender :( ).

B.Y.O.B. : magenta color is mapped to portal (supported by Sketchup plugin).
jensverwiebe : where could i find raydeph option ? don't saw it on engine or scene options !


Sorry, no idea about exposed sketchup parameters, pls ask in the desired thread.
Lookout for something like "raydepth" , "eyedepth", "lightdepth" in the engine related area.
Beware the portal hint, it makes a huuuge difference.

viewtopic.php?f=35&t=13218

It looks not too old btw.
User avatar
jensverwiebe
Developer
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:34 pm

Re: Tons of noise :(

Postby GenHOME » Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:24 am

Find option, changing type of render from default to Luxcore...

Relaunch rendering machine ^^
GenHOME
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 12:46 am

Re: Tons of noise :(

Postby jensverwiebe » Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:27 am

GenHOME wrote:Find option, changing type of render from default to Luxcore...

Relaunch rendering machine ^^



EEEK ... did the luxcore1 had portals already like classic ? Fear not, so you might in this mode have to hide the portal geom. Not 100% sure.
User avatar
jensverwiebe
Developer
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:34 pm

Re: Tons of noise :(

Postby B.Y.O.B. » Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:34 am

jensverwiebe wrote:did the luxcore1 had portals already like classic ?

No.

LuxCore has visibility maps (improved version of portals that don't need to be manually placed), but only since recently, and it never had manual portals.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
 
Posts: 5181
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Tons of noise :(

Postby GenHOME » Wed Apr 04, 2018 1:28 am

Hi,

Using a most powerfull computer, the rendering speeding up and noise desappear quickly.
Portals use changed also radicaly luminosity of the scene ^^

Thx for your answers.
Attachments
Appartement_cuisine_new2_45.png
Rendering after only 40mn (gaming computer)
GenHOME
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 12:46 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests