Luxcore. What does it mean for the non-programmer?

General Project and community related discussion.

Moderators: Dade, coordinators

Luxcore. What does it mean for the non-programmer?

Postby Aragon Speed » Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:31 pm

I have read through the Luxcore threads, and not being a programmer I have no clue what most of the information in those threads means. I have been able to gather that you are swapping the language Lux will be coded in, and that GPU acceleration will now be an option within the main render engine instead of a separate test-bed program.

So my question is, what exactly does all this mean to the NORMAL end user who isn't a programmer? ("This is what we're doing; Have a look at this code/script!" WTF? Thanks for the complete lack of information for normal people guys...) Will it be faster to render? Will there be missing elements finally available? (Like the lack of true sss shaders)

Does it mean that Lux will support more exporters for 3D packages out of the box rather than just blender as they will be easier to create? - Blender, imo, is the most unintuitive abomination of a 3d package the devil ever created. I have used many 3D packages over the years (I have used Maya, ZBrush, AutoCAD, Cinema 4D, Lightwave, 3DS Max, Poser, DAZ and Carrara, MAX being my favourite probably because it was the first one I learnt and used) and Blender is the only one I absolutely refuse to use as I want to work on my models and not swear at the PC a lot. I understand why this was picked as the main modelling package to use as it is free and the easiest for people to grab, but it would be nice if others were supported out of the box rather than relying on the community to hack something together.