LuxRender v1.5RC1 release

News & Announcements regarding releases, features, exporters and project coordination.

Moderators: Dade, coordinators

Re: LuxRender v1.5RC1 release

Postby Dade » Tue Jun 23, 2015 8:02 am

zukazuka wrote:Is this long compile kernel thing just a Nvidia problem or it also happens on AMD?


It is common but, lately, the AMD compiler seems quite faster.

Note: exactly for this reason, you may want to use CPU rendering for interactive scene rendering (i.e. Blender real-time preview) and GPU rendering for off-line rendering (i.e. Blender full image rendering).
User avatar
Dade
Developer
 
Posts: 8311
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:04 pm
Location: Italy

Re: LuxRender v1.5RC1 release

Postby zukazuka » Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:03 am

The compiling kernels part eats up all my memory (8gb) and the system starts going crazy with swap disk and everything grinds to a halt. Sometimes it's 15 minutes before I can kill the blender process to make the system more responsive. Even with a simple scene with one object and a wood texture it gets pretty crazy. For me at least it's not really usable right now with luxcore GPU rendering.

I'm using CPU rendering for everything now - the BiasPath CPU works great, it's just not the fastest :)
zukazuka
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:01 am
Location: 西安 China

Re: LuxRender v1.5RC1 release

Postby zukazuka » Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:21 am

It seems like a volume with glass2 really makes the time go up like crazy... matte and glossy are reasonable.
zukazuka
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:01 am
Location: 西安 China

Re: LuxRender v1.5RC1 release

Postby zukazuka » Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:26 am

SATtva wrote:What GPU are you using?

Nvidia GTX 750ti 2gb, 8gb system memory, intel i7-3770.
OK I know it's not the best GPU but it worked pretty well with lux1.4
zukazuka
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:01 am
Location: 西安 China

Re: LuxRender v1.5RC1 release

Postby zukazuka » Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:32 am

Another observation for me if I use "blender texture" -> "wood" "band noise" it works pretty good, but if I use "ring noise" it goes crazy and runs out of memory.

EDIT - this doesn't happen with default cube object... I observed wit with a complex scene.
Last edited by zukazuka on Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
zukazuka
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:01 am
Location: 西安 China

Re: LuxRender v1.5RC1 release

Postby zukazuka » Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:47 am

If I create a default cube scene - add a volume and assign it to a cube with glass2 material:

In console I get:
Code: Select all
[LuxCore][45.690] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling kernels
[LuxCore][46.979] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Kernels not cached
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling Film_Clear Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Film_Clear workgroup size: 1024
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling InitSeed Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] InitSeed workgroup size: 1024
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling InitStat Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] InitStat workgroup size: 1024
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling RenderSample_MK_GENERATE_CAMERA_RAY Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RenderSample_MK_GENERATE_CAMERA_RAY workgroup size: 1024
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling RenderSample_MK_TRACE_EYE_RAY Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RenderSample_MK_TRACE_EYE_RAY workgroup size: 896
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling RenderSample_MK_ILLUMINATE_EYE_MISS Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RenderSample_MK_ILLUMINATE_EYE_MISS workgroup size: 1024
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling RenderSample_MK_ILLUMINATE_EYE_HIT Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RenderSample_MK_ILLUMINATE_EYE_HIT workgroup size: 1024
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling RenderSample_MK_DL_VERTEX_1 Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RenderSample_MK_DL_VERTEX_1 workgroup size: 1024
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling RenderSample_MK_BSDF_SAMPLE_DIFFUSE Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RenderSample_MK_BSDF_SAMPLE_DIFFUSE workgroup size: 1024
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling RenderSample_MK_BSDF_SAMPLE_GLOSSY Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RenderSample_MK_BSDF_SAMPLE_GLOSSY workgroup size: 1024
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling RenderSample_MK_BSDF_SAMPLE_SPECULAR Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RenderSample_MK_BSDF_SAMPLE_SPECULAR workgroup size: 512
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Compiling MergePixelSamples Kernel
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] MergePixelSamples workgroup size: 1024
[LuxCore][46.980] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] Kernels compilation time: 1291ms
[LuxCore][46.981] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][46.982] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 2
[LuxCore][46.983] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][46.983] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 3
[LuxCore][46.985] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][46.985] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 4
[LuxCore][46.986] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][46.986] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 5
[LuxCore][46.988] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][46.988] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 6
[LuxCore][46.991] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][46.991] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 7
[LuxCore][46.993] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][46.993] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 8
[LuxCore][46.997] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][46.997] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 9
[LuxCore][47.000] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][47.000] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 10
[LuxCore][47.005] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][47.005] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 11
[LuxCore][47.010] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][47.010] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 12
[LuxCore][47.016] [PathOCLBaseRenderThread::0] RADIANCE_PER_PIXEL_NORMALIZEDs[0] buffer size: 16Kbytes
[LuxCore][47.016] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Increased the number of rendered tiles to: 13
[LuxCore][47.023] [BiasPathOCLRenderThread::0] Rendering thread ERROR: clEnqueueReadBuffer(CL_OUT_OF_RESOURCES)
[Lux 2015-Jun-23 10:48:33] Recommended minimum display interval: 0.7s


Then it stops... if I hit esc to cancel the operation in blender I get:
Code: Select all
[Lux 2015-Jun-23 10:50:53] Rendering aborted: clEnqueueReadBuffer
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/xx/.config/blender/2.74/scripts/addons/luxrender/core/__init__.py", line 1549, in luxcore_render
    luxcore_session.Stop()
RuntimeError: clEnqueueReadBuffer
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'cl::Error'
  what():  clEnqueueReadBuffer


Blender crashes "Aborted" instead of catching the error gracefully
zukazuka
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:01 am
Location: 西安 China

Re: LuxRender v1.5RC1 release

Postby Meelis » Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:28 am

Hi

I get error with LuxRender 1.5RC1 x64 NoOpenCL
The procedure entry point Get Active Processor GroupCount could not be located in the dynamic link library kernel32.dll


Same with 1.4 final. 1.4RC3 works though.

Vista 64bit
c2d e4500
User avatar
Meelis
 
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:16 am

Re: LuxRender v1.5RC1 release

Postby acasta69 » Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:26 pm

Hi

I've compiled 1.5RC1 on my Windows system, apparently without errors, but it seems I'm then not able to set it up properly, I must be missing something.
I'm using it with Blender 2.74.
This is the console after starting Blender:

console.png

One of the problems this seems to cause is that API 2 is not available:

api2.png
api2.png (28.85 KiB) Viewed 1480 times

This is how LuxRender folder appears:

luxfolder.png


I have tried to copy all pylux*.* files to the luxblend folder, but nothing changes.

Could you please give me some suggestion? Anything missing from lux folder?
By the way, I've set up the path to lux in Blender as indicated in the folder picture, so why does it try to load files from C:\Program Files\LuxRender but not from F:\Ale\Tools\LuxRender\Lux_1.5RC1?

Thanks in advance
Ale
Windows 10 64 bits, i7-4770 3.4 GHz, RAM 16 GB, GTX 970 4GB v376.54
acasta69
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:18 am

Re: LuxRender v1.5RC1 release

Postby acasta69 » Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:48 pm

Hi again

after copying several other files to the LuxBlend folder, it worked.
This is how my LuxBlend folder appears now:

luxblend.png

Is it correct that all those files must be there?
Shouldn't some of them be loaded from the LuxRender folder, if available there?
Even removing embree.dll or OpenImageIO.dll from LuxBlend folder restore the situation described in my previous post... Is that correct?

Edit: put picture of correct folder
Windows 10 64 bits, i7-4770 3.4 GHz, RAM 16 GB, GTX 970 4GB v376.54
acasta69
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:18 am

Re: LuxRender v1.5RC1 release

Postby B.Y.O.B. » Fri Jun 26, 2015 5:27 pm

acasta69 wrote:Is it correct that all those files must be there?

You can delete the .lib and .exp files.

Also, you can move all those files to any folder you like and set the "path to LuxRender" in the user preferences in Blender accordingly.
But that's not necessary.
Attachments
sfsd.png
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
 
Posts: 5063
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest