LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Discussion related to the implementation of new features & algorithms to the Core Engine.

Moderators: Dade, jromang, tomb, zcott, coordinators

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby tomb » Sat Dec 20, 2014 4:38 pm

Another bug I found, sorry if it has been reported before. There seems to be some sort of "noise" in the mix material:

checkers_luxrender.png
Luxrender output


checkers_luxcore_ocl.png
LuxCore OCL output


checkers_luxcore.png
LuxCore CPU output


It appears no matter what sampler or integrator I use (in LuxCore). It appears slightly different with OCL GPU vs CPU.

T
Attachments
checkers.blend
(878.43 KiB) Downloaded 38 times
User avatar
tomb
Developer
 
Posts: 2677
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 4:23 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby B.Y.O.B. » Sat Dec 20, 2014 5:13 pm

Maybe it's a bug in the checker texture?

I found a bug in realtime preview while testing the scene, it crashes when I try to move/modify the ground plane. Will have to look what causes this...
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
 
Posts: 5180
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby tomb » Sat Dec 20, 2014 5:55 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:Maybe it's a bug in the checker texture?

I found a bug in realtime preview while testing the scene, it crashes when I try to move/modify the ground plane. Will have to look what causes this...


Not sure. Jens says this way of doing a checkers background in Lux is quite esoteric, so that may be the issue (i.e. using a mix material and not a mix texture).
User avatar
tomb
Developer
 
Posts: 2677
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 4:23 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby tomb » Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:01 pm

tomb wrote:
B.Y.O.B. wrote:Maybe it's a bug in the checker texture?

I found a bug in realtime preview while testing the scene, it crashes when I try to move/modify the ground plane. Will have to look what causes this...


Not sure. Jens says this way of doing a checkers background in Lux is quite esoteric, so that may be the issue (i.e. using a mix material and not a mix texture).


FWIW, changing from 3d+global coordinates to 2D uv works and resolves the "noise". Perhaps there is some numerical issue in the 3D mapper.
User avatar
tomb
Developer
 
Posts: 2677
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 4:23 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby B.Y.O.B. » Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:38 am

I'm trying to set up Blender/Luxrender on my notebook (I'm on vacation at my family's home right now).
I'm using Ubuntu and have no OpenCL drivers installed.
When I try to render with API 2.x, this error occurs:
Code: Select all
[Lux 2014-Dec-22 17:33:55] Rendering aborted: clGetPlatformIDs
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/simon/.config/blender/2.72/scripts/addons/luxrender/core/__init__.py", line 1161, in luxcore_render
    lcSession = pyluxcore.RenderSession(lcConfig)
RuntimeError: clGetPlatformIDs

Even when not using a OpenCL rendermode like bidir.
LuxRender build is RC2 without OpenCL for Linux 64bit.

API 1.x works fine, however even there when I use a LuxCore mode Blender crashes with this error:
Code: Select all
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::runtime_error'
  what():  Unterminated quote in property: opencl.gpu.use


Any ideas what's going wrong? Is the problem in LuxCore or LuxBlend?
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
 
Posts: 5180
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby jensverwiebe » Mon Dec 22, 2014 1:17 pm

My guess is the we need a check for general opencl presence.
At least 1 device == opencl cpu is expected.
On OSX this does not matter due opencl is always present, but i think
on linux and windows this situation would need an non-ocl build else.

Jens
User avatar
jensverwiebe
Developer
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:34 pm

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby B.Y.O.B. » Tue Dec 23, 2014 2:54 pm

jensverwiebe wrote:on linux and windows this situation would need an non-ocl build else.

But I'm already using a non-opencl build :|
And I'm not even trying to use a opencl render mode.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
 
Posts: 5180
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby Dade » Tue Dec 23, 2014 3:13 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
jensverwiebe wrote:on linux and windows this situation would need an non-ocl build else.

But I'm already using a non-opencl build :|
And I'm not even trying to use a opencl render mode.


Yes, but LuxBlend is probably still trying to call LuxRays to obtain the list of OpenCL devices :?:
User avatar
Dade
Developer
 
Posts: 8404
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:04 pm
Location: Italy

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby SATtva » Wed Dec 24, 2014 12:40 am

Hm, i can't confirm the issue on an OpenCL-less Linux machine (no libOpenCL in the system). Even when using e.g. Path OpenCL, it still works fine by falling back to native rendering mode.

P.S. LuxBlend is RC3 tag from the repo, however i didn't had any such issues with RC2 as well if my memory doesn't fails me.
Linux builds packager
聞くのは一時の恥、聞かぬのは一生の恥
User avatar
SATtva
Developer
 
Posts: 7164
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:19 pm
Location: from Siberia with love

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby B.Y.O.B. » Wed Dec 24, 2014 6:33 am

SATtva wrote:i can't confirm the issue on an OpenCL-less Linux machine (no libOpenCL in the system)

I have libopencl installed (apparently wine depends on it), I'll try to uninstall it.

edit: that did the trick, now it works.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
 
Posts: 5180
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Architecture & Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests