LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Discussion related to the implementation of new features & algorithms to the Core Engine.

Moderators: Dade, jromang, tomb, zcott, coordinators

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby Lord Crc » Sun Nov 30, 2014 9:56 am

Oh perhaps we're not building them with the right toolset. I'll check.
May contain traces of nuts.
User avatar
Lord Crc
Developer
 
Posts: 5032
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:10 pm

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby Lord Crc » Sun Nov 30, 2014 2:51 pm

Dade wrote:Is MS dropping the support for old OS ?


Indirectly. You need to build against a different toolset (compiler/linker/headers).

I've looked into this and the "invalid executable" error does indeed seem to be a toolset issue.

I've also found that personally I don't have the time to try to get Lux building against XP. I don't even have a 32bit Windows around, much less not a working XP to test on. All of our dependencies will also have to be built against this XP toolset, and there are many places where that can go wrong. Without having any chance of testing, this will simply take too much of my very limited spare time :(
May contain traces of nuts.
User avatar
Lord Crc
Developer
 
Posts: 5032
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:10 pm

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby ajcdfin » Sun Nov 30, 2014 3:26 pm

Dade,
Thanks for the link, unfortunately it throws the same error. :cry:
What Lord Crc says makes some sense to me but I have 0 programming knowledge - but still I don't understand why the 2.0(lux core) in Blender does work. Well thanks for all your help - I am a huge fan of this renderer and I still have version 1.3 to use for now.
Thanks
ajcdfin
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby Lord Crc » Sun Nov 30, 2014 8:27 pm

ajcdfin wrote:What Lord Crc says makes some sense to me but I have 0 programming knowledge - but still I don't understand why the 2.0(lux core) in Blender does work.


Probably because it's a DLL only. Does LuxConsole work for you? That being said, I still don't quite understand what exactly the difference between the "normal" toolset and the "xp" toolset. It's more than just a few new DLL calls clearly.
May contain traces of nuts.
User avatar
Lord Crc
Developer
 
Posts: 5032
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:10 pm

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby ajcdfin » Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:10 pm

Lord Crc,
I don't know how to start/run the console :oops: Double clicking it brings it up but then it closes. If there is a quick explanation for it I will give it a try.
Thanks
ajcdfin
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby Lord Crc » Mon Dec 01, 2014 7:14 pm

Probably the easiest is in Blender to select 1.x API, External export type, and "Render using" LuxConsole. That'll test if it runs at least.
May contain traces of nuts.
User avatar
Lord Crc
Developer
 
Posts: 5032
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:10 pm

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby ajcdfin » Mon Dec 01, 2014 7:25 pm

Lord Crc wrote:Probably the easiest is in Blender to select 1.x API, External export type, and "Render using" LuxConsole. That'll test if it runs at least.


I googled it (how to run it) it still throws the error. Tried the way you described in blender and it throws the WinError 193 in the header. Just wondering if you think I should install a different version of MS Visual ??
ajcdfin
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby Alpistinho » Sun Dec 14, 2014 12:53 pm

I think I've found a bug on LuxCore Biased Path rendering engine.
It occurs only on the OpenCL mode, with metropolis, sobol and random samplers.
Sometimes, this problem shows up only in the "sun" light group, although in this case there artifacts in both light groups.
The path OpenCL engine crashes luxrender or throws up an OpenCL error.
My gpu is an AMD r7 260x 2 GB, using the latest Omega drivers.
I've used the Lord CRC's microkernel build and just grabbed LuxBlend from the repository.

allLights.png
all light groups with auto linear kernel


HDRI.png
just the HDRI light group with auto linear kernel


CPU.png
CPU version with all light groups and auto linear kernel
User avatar
Alpistinho
Developer
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:57 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby Alpistinho » Sun Dec 14, 2014 12:59 pm

How can I upload the scene?
I am trying to upload it the same way I've done with the images, but it is not working. Is there a size limit?
User avatar
Alpistinho
Developer
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:57 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Re: LuxCore: issues, problems, regressions

Postby Dade » Sun Dec 14, 2014 1:52 pm

Alpistinho wrote:How can I upload the scene?
I am trying to upload it the same way I've done with the images, but it is not working. Is there a size limit?


I can not remember if the forum allows to attach .zip files, have you tried ? Otherwise you can you use an external service like DropBox and place a link here.
User avatar
Dade
Developer
 
Posts: 8356
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:04 pm
Location: Italy

PreviousNext

Return to Architecture & Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests