LuxCoreRender v2.0beta2 is now avilable

Discussion related to the Website functionality, user accounts and graphic design.

Moderators: Dade, coordinators

LuxCoreRender v2.0beta2 is now avilable

Postby Dade » Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:52 am

Introduction

After 8 alpha releases and 1 beta during the (not so close) "family & friend" test phase, LuxRender team is proud to present the first public release of LuxRender re-birth project.

wallpaper_lux_05_rend1b.jpg


A new web site, wiki and forums

The new release includes a totally new web site, wiki and forums:


A new rendering core

Lux(Core)Render v2.0 includes only LuxCore code and drops all other code (aka classic LuxRender). The new code includes many new features compared to the last officiale LuxCore release included in LuxRender v1.6: https://wiki.luxcorerender.org/LuxCoreR ... Notes_v2.0

A new blender plugin

BlendLuxCore is the new plugin for Blender written totally from scratch and only to work with LuxCore. Just check how fast it is ;)

A new source repository

All the sources of the v2.0 are now hosted at: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender

Why Lux(Core)Render v2.0 ?

Because LuxRender project was dying under the weight of a lot of old abandoned code. All active developers had the strong feeling a fresh start was required. The "Core" between "Lux" and "Render" is there to highlight the new project focus. However the "v2.0" is there to re-mark the continuity with 10 years of development and experience.

Enjoy !

It was a lot work, enjoy :D

FunDay-X2.jpg


P.S. We are moving to the new forums now on, posts on the old forums may go unread for a long time and/or not receive an answer at all.
User avatar
Dade
Developer
 
Posts: 8404
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:04 pm
Location: Italy

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0beta2 is now avilable

Postby pixie » Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:14 am

Congrats all!
pixie
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:30 am
Location: Neverland

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0beta2 is now avilable

Postby ajcdfin » Thu Apr 05, 2018 7:19 am

This is great news...Thank You
ajcdfin
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0beta2 is now avilable

Postby igall » Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:53 am

Awesome! :)
igall
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:15 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0beta2 is now avilable

Postby Rickyx » Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:44 pm

That is a super upgrade but it took me a while to discover this topic and the new website.
It is possible to publish a fresh, last news in luxrender.net homepage or even a redirect?

Thank you,
Riccardo
Rickyx
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:19 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0beta2 is now avilable

Postby Dade » Thu Apr 19, 2018 1:41 am

Rickyx wrote:That is a super upgrade but it took me a while to discover this topic and the new website.
It is possible to publish a fresh, last news in luxrender.net homepage or even a redirect?


There is 2 announces under "Development News" and "Community News" on the home page but, yes, they are not so visible. The problem is no one has any idea how to touch the old web site (it was written with a custom CSM many years ago).
User avatar
Dade
Developer
 
Posts: 8404
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:04 pm
Location: Italy

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0beta2 is now avilable

Postby Wolfsbane » Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:23 am

Looks awesome! im so excited! i hope you will also release the exchanger for C4D soon :D
Wolfsbane
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:40 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0beta2 is now avilable

Postby B.Y.O.B. » Thu Apr 26, 2018 1:49 am

Wolfsbane wrote:i hope you will also release the exchanger for C4D soon

If you find a developer who implements it ;)
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
 
Posts: 5181
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0beta2 is now avilable

Postby Wolfsbane » Fri Apr 27, 2018 7:01 am

Could the old exchange plugin be actually used to build a new one if its rewritten?
Wolfsbane
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:40 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0beta2 is now avilable

Postby B.Y.O.B. » Sat Apr 28, 2018 12:55 pm

No idea. But most developers prefer to build something new from ground up than to port old code they don't know.
Also the C4D API might have changed a lot since the plugin was written.
You could ask in a C4D forum if someone is interested to write a new plugin.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
 
Posts: 5181
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: Germany


Return to Website & Graphic design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron