How to use LuxRender

General Project and community related discussion.

Moderators: Dade, coordinators

How to use LuxRender

Postby simplyhua » Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:14 pm

Hi. I'm a newbie to LuxRender, so I have a question about how to use LuxRender. Can it be used independently or it has to be used as plugin with Blender etc other software ?
simplyhua
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:11 pm

Re: How to use LuxRender

Postby B.Y.O.B. » Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:28 am

We are currently re-booting the project and only focusing on LuxCore: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=13485
If you want, we can invite you to the closed alpha.

LuxCore can be used by
a) writing .cfg/.scn files by hand and using PLY meshes (I guess nobody apart from core devs does this)
b) using an exporter addon/plugin
c) interfacing with LuxCore API (either C++ or Python). This is also what an exporter addon does.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
 
Posts: 5181
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How to use LuxRender

Postby simplyhua » Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:21 pm

Thanks ! I use Solidworks on a Win 7 / 64 bits. Can LuxRender be used as plugin/addon for solidworks ? If so how to connect LuxRender to solidworks ?
simplyhua
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:11 pm

Re: How to use LuxRender

Postby B.Y.O.B. » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:24 am

As far as I know, nobody has written a Lux plugin for solidworks so far.
If you want to make one, you have to find out which scripting language solidworks uses and you would need to create bindings for it in the LuxCore API.
edit: looks like Solidworks has a C++ API, so no bindings needed.
Are you a 3D artist or a developer?
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
 
Posts: 5181
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:10 pm
Location: Germany


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest